NSW & VIC Rollout – It all starts in 9 months!

Today the NDIS roll out schedule was released by the Prime Minister and the Premiers of NSW and Victoria.

The roll out announcement is consistent with the agreement that was signed in 2012. Governments have kept their promise to deliver the NDIS.

The NDIS in NSW will be rolled out in two parts.

  • In the first 12 months (1 July 2016 to 30 June 2017) seven locations in NSW will be covered: Central Coast, Northern Sydney, South Western Sydney, Southern NSW, Western Sydney, and anyone in the trial sites in Hunter New England and Nepean-Blue Mountains who are not already part of the NDIS.

  • In the second year (1 July 2017 to 30 June 2018) the remainder of NSW will be covered. This will include Illawarra Shoalhaven, Mid North Coast, Murrumbidgee, Northern NSW, South Eastern Sydney, Sydney, Western and Far Western NSW.

  • After 1 July 2018 all of NSW will be fully covered.

The NSW roll out will primarily focus on region, but will prioritise getting those who are already receiving services into the NDIS.

The NSW roll out will cover a total of 115,000 people, and allows for up to 26,000 people who do not currently receive any support at the moment to come into the NDIS in the first year.

In Victoria the roll out will be spread across three years.

  • The first year (1 July 2016 to 30 June 2017) will roll out the NDIS in North East Melbourne (Yarra, Darebin and Whittlesea LGAs), Central Highlands (Ballarat and Moorabool) and Loddon (Macedon Ranges and Campaspe).

  • The second year (1 July 2017 to 30 June 2018) will cover Inner Gippsland, Ovens Murray (Wodonga and Wangaratta), Western District (Horsham and Corangamite), Inner East Melbourne, Outer East Melbourne, Hume Moreland and Bayside Peninsula.

  • The first year (1 July 2018 to 30 June 2019) will finish the roll out across Victoria with Southern Melbourne, Brimbank Melton, Western Melbourne, Goulburn, Mallee and Outer Gippsland).

Victoria will be a geographic roll out, however people receiving some support from Victoria government programs will be moved into the NDIS as soon as the NDIS is available in their area.

By 1 July 2019, around 105,000 people will be covered in Victoria. This will include 27,000 people who are new to the disability system, as well as 78,000 people who currently receive support.

The NDIS roll out plans for Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, the ACT and the Northern Territory are still to be announced.

The roll out in Western Australia depends on the evaluation of the WA pilot site which is not expected to be announced in the near future.